David Hurn interview

One thing that I like about the internet is the way, sometimes, things turn up that you’re not looking for, but that are interesting. That’s how I ran across this interview with David Hurn, where he discusses his current exhibition in Cardiff. I don’t think I’ll be able to get to visit as it closes on 9 January, but the interview is both interesting and paints a positive picture of DH himself. There were a few odd things that struck me during the video:

– He does not come across as at all arrogant, but remains very engaged and articulate. I was struck by the comparison with some of the elderly people I know who are far less able or engaged with making the most of every day.

– He again stated that he thinks that there is so much richness in reality that he doesn’t feel the need to create or invent alternatives (photographically). I think there is an important principle here that is rapidly disappearing under the onslaught of manipulated images that are everywhere and ready acceptance of grossly altered imagery as photographs, rather than digital graphic art.

– The photos in the exhibition are pinned to the wall. No frames, just a picture on paper with drawing pins. I liked that. It allows the picture to be itself without overstating its importance or letting other things get in the way.

Well worth a 17 minute investment in my view.

3 Responses to “David Hurn interview”

  1. John Ellis Says:

    Thanks for the heads-up on the Hurn interview. I haven’t listened yet but from what you say, I think I have heard snippets before. I’ll try and find the time! Which is more than I have done for the exhibition itself: impossible to get out of West Wales before Christmas and too much catching up to do now it has thawed!

  2. I would have liked to get down, but it’s a longer trek from North yorkshire and only one weekend left. I hope you enjoy the nterview – let me know what you think.

    Mike

  3. Thanks for posting about this interview. I’ve enjoyed reading David’s words, since stumbling across his collaboration with Bill Jay ‘On Being A Photographer’. David (and the late Bill) is quite articulate, and a deep thinker. A pleasure to read or listen too – no words wasted.

Leave a Reply

