M9 addendum and the fraudulent photographer

I recalled a couple of points that I intended to include in my last post on the M9 and wanted to add something else that gives context to the whole business!

One. Focus shift with the Zeiss 50 C-Sonnar is not as bad as I’d feared. Mine is optimised for f1.5 and occasionally I notice that the wrong eye is in focus if I forget to adjust a bit. That’s about it – only close in and at f2 to 4. I don’t worry about it.

Two. If you overexpose then it will burn highlights like all digital cameras.

Three. I really like it and the reasons for this are really rooted in the next couple of paragraphs, after the break.

I was reading Dante Stalla’s (highly recommended) site and noticed some comments in an article he wrote on the M8.

At the end of the day, photography is about life more than anything else.  It’s about capturing things that cannot be later reproduced.  A good camera is one that you never think about.  It is in your pocket when you need it to be.  And good photograph is one that you enjoy twenty years from now…

It is not the highest resolution camera.  It is not the fastest.  It does not have the longest-life batteries.  It does not have autofocus.   It barely has automatic exposure.  But it is supremely good at taking pictures without complications or distractions.  That’s all you really need to know.

This sums up much of what is important about photography for me. The ability to simply make a picture of the people and things around us, that we care about and are engaged and interested in, as we go about our lives – tomorrow’s memories – is a key element of why I photograph. The M9, like the M8 and the Zeiss Ikon is supremely good at fulfilling that role. It doesn’t get in the way.

For other areas of photography, where I might have more pre-conception about what and how to shoot it may or may not fit as well, but as an everyday camera it works.

The rest of the Christmas Fair set are on Flickr here.

Oh, and the fraudulent photographer. I’ve seen a lot of hot air about fine art this and conceptual other and I thoroughly enjoy some of the journeys, but we all take our pictures of the kids into old age with us and I sometimes feel that my acceptance of their importance makes me a fraud in the photographic world:)

Leave a Reply

