Some sample scans – Epson V750 vs Nikon 9000

I’ve just done some sample scans for a member on Open Photography Forum comparing the output from an Epson V750 with a Nikon 9000. These have been uploaded to 4shared and the download links are on the OPF post here.

The Nikon clearly resolves a lot more, but the epson is perfectly capable of making nice prints up to a reasonable size from 35mm. Please feel free to download and print copies for your own test purposes if you want.

I’ve also included a file from the Mamiya 7ii. This is a full 6 by 7 frame of Tmax 100 developed in Xtol 1+2 and scanned on the Nikon using vuescan to produce a raw file.

I hope they’re informative, if not exhaustively scientific

Mike

 

8 Responses to “Some sample scans – Epson V750 vs Nikon 9000”

  1. Hey,

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Unfortunately the link to the file you took with your Mamiya isn’t available. I think the link’s gone dead. Could you re-up or perhaps email the file to me directly? I’d really *really* appreciate it.

    Thanks so much!

  2. Hi Daniel

    I’ve sent you the file via YouSendIt.

    I hope it arrives safe, but please let me know if not.

    Mike

  3. Hey Mike,

    I did get, thanks so much! I’m debating the purchase of a brand new 9000. It’s still available at one of my local stores. I looked at your scan and you might want to consider doing wet-mounting using scanscience kits. Give them a call & speak to Julio. He’s the owner. A chemist by trade, he’s very knowledgable. The site also has some excellent dry-vs-wet scan comparisons.

    As for me.. the jury’s still out on the coolscan. I’d LOVE to own it, but at almost $2800.00 I’m just not sure I want to make the investment. I have a ton of film gear and prefer film to digital anyday, but costs are a factor and I might be forced down the digital route, like it or not!

    Thanks for the inspiring posts & for going the extra mile!

    • Personally I went for the Microtek Artixscan 120tf (Polaroid Sprintscan 120). Perhaps not quite as good as the Nikon, but found it for $700 used.

  4. I managed to pick up a brand new Coolscan 9000 and hope to put it to work sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

