Charitable fund raising

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Charitable fund raising”

  1. Hi Mike

    As a street photographer from the other side of the pennines I have some sympathy with your obvious annoyance with the fund raisers but never enjoy seeing street photography used as a means of attacking individuals, individuals that are poorly paid and help bring in 500,00 to 600,000 new donations a year.

    Here’s a balanced article

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-12525580

    We street photographs have had many a landscape shooter etc say that we invade peoples privacy. That we shove our cameras in peoples faces and don’t care about who we offend or upset and state that people don’t want to be shot without permission. That of course is projection and seldom based on actual experience, it’s just opinion. So with those kind of slurs in my mind I have some sympathy with the fund raisers to.

    Street photography & Fund raising are legal, not everybody gets it, it offends some while others defend it. They’re not easy gigs but they’re worth doing.

    At least the intentions of the people in your photographs are clear from the outset, agree with them or not we know what they want. Did they know you were going to use their photographs to attack what they were doing? If they did, are you going to give them a chance to respond? If they didn’t know, is that fair?

    Cheers

    Sean

    • Hi Sean

      You’re right. My article was a bit unbalanced so I’ve removed the text until I get tie to redraft a more sober set of comments.

      My intent was not actually to attack the individuals who, from the various people I’ve discussed the subject with, appear to be pretty badly treated themselves on the whole. Again, that may not be the case for this group here, although I did speak to a number of them – I don’t know. My concern lies in the approach charities adopt to fund raising, and that may be a philosphical thing as much as anything. I’ll write more some time. Meanwhile, I apologise to any of the people pictured who have been upset by my comments.

      Not sure if I’m one of the ‘landscape photographers’ you refer to. I don’t imagine or identify myself as a landscape photographer. But I do think that it is important that photography be allowed in public – not really to defend the rights of photographers over other people, but for a couple of other reasons. First, I think the ability to witness actions and share that witness can be an important tool in protecting freedoms and bringing justice (idealistic I know:)) and, second, I’m really not sure what people want to be protected from. Simply put, in public don’t do things that you’d be ashamed of if people see you. Photography is just about seeing and the strength of the street photography I’ve enjoyed is all in sharing someone else’s seeing of those moments that encapsulate something of life.

      Thanks

      Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

